Friends…How Many Do You Really Need?

stroller-502934_640
Aside from my wife I have a few people I would really call my friend. Which I guess some people would say that I am lucky to have that many. I often wonder how the Lord Jesus felt in the world because no one could fully relate to him and all of the things he was going through. I know we need each other because Proverbs 27:17 tells me that we do. It says, “As iron sharpens iron, and one man sharpens another.”
What does that really look like? It requires contact! You cannot have that sharpening without it. The one thing you can take from this is that it says one man, not necessarily a group of men. So you do not have to have a lot of people in your life to be sharpened. Just that one good friend. You know the one who will tell you what you need to hear, even if it’s not what you want to hear. Iron cannot be sharpened without some friction. Just like us we cannot grow without a challenge.
With a friend you can get more things accomplished. Ecclesiastes 4:9 says, “Two are better than one, because they have a good reward for their toil.” I’m pretty sure you have heard the old adage, “in order to have friends you must first be a friend.” What does that look like?
I think you need to be someone a person can depend on, someone who keeps their word. Proverbs 18:24 says, “A man of many companions may come to ruin, but there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother. What I have been trying to say is summed up in this verse. We don’t need to have a lot of friends. We need one or two good friends, but most of all we need Jesus.
When we have Jesus we have the best friend we could possibly ask for. We still need human friends also just not a whole plethora of them to be happy. Jesus has shown his love for us that he gave his life for us (John 15:13), not only that he did it while we were separated from him by sin (Romans 5:8).
I encourage you to run to Jesus with open arms and tell him how grateful you are for his friendship. If you don’t have a relationship with him I’d be more than happy to discuss how you can. It is the most important decision you’ll ever make.
Do you have friends you can count on? Are you a person people want to call friend?
Leave a Reply

