New Year…Same You?

businessman-573024_640

With today being New Year’s day I thought it would be appropriate to make todays post about goals. Not resolutions, but goals. If you are like me you will make a resolution and completely forget about it before the day is over. I have been listening to Michael Hyatt about setting goals, if I could have afforded it I would have taken his course 5 days to your best year ever. It is a goal setting course to help you focus on and reach your goals for the coming year.
Goals are important to have. It has been said that if you want to be happy set goals. And your happiness will follow as you achieve them. In order to set good goals you need to set what are known as SMART goals.
S: Specific: be intentional about what you want to do. Don’t just say I want to lose weight. Instead say  I want to lose 20 pounds.
M: Measurable: there should be some form of measure whether is time, weight, money, or whatever you need to measure.
A: Achievable: You need to pick something that you are capable of doing. 
R:Results-focused: Pick something that will allow you to see results as you are doing it.
T: Time-bound: there needs to be a set deadline in order to reach that goal.

 

Trust me, I have failed enough at doing the whole resolution thing. I want to finally succeed and plan on using this method. I have written about six goals that I want to achieve by August, when my wife and I are planning of going to Haiti to train pastors and work with orphans.
We need to have goals. Our Lord and savior had one goal and that was to do the will of Him who sent him. The use of goals is going to make a huge difference in your life. I plan on doing daily, weekly, monthly, and so on goals. That way I have short term and long term goals to shoot for.
Do you prefer to have resolutions or to set goals?
Leave a Reply

