Can I Do That?

Do I have what it takes to lead? I have moments of  confidence and then after speaking with certain people I  feel deflated like I am not meant to do what I feel called to do. I often wonder can I?
  • Can I be a good pastor?
  • Can I be a better parent?
  • Can I make it in the real world?
  • Can I be an effective writer?
  • Can I….?
I recently read a blog post about admitting you aren’t the one. It made me think “am I the one to change the world with my writing?” Or am I just another guy going through seminary to say I have a degree? Where I am right now I could make a difference in someones life. I like to think I do on Monday nights, as I lead a small (sometimes 5-20guys) group of men.
I know that in and of myself I cannot do it. It requires a humble dependance on Jesus and his work through the Holy Spirit. There is not one thing on that list I feel qualified to do on my own. If I’m honest and other Christians are honest they feel the same way.
marathon-530332_640
One thing I need to keep at the front of my mind is that I am running my own race, not someone else’s. I cannot train to be someone else. I can only train for the roles I am called to.I need to play my position. Because not everyone is called to be a Paul (you know the guy in front). Some of us are called to be Luke’s (support personnel) or a Timothy (a future leader). I am still not clear on whether I am a Timothy or a Luke and that is okay.
To answer my own questions of “Can I….?” Yes I can be all of those things; if it is in God’s will and as long as what I’m perusing is pure. I can do anything as long as I believe I capable of trying. The only true failure is to not try at all. I’m making a promise to myself now that I may mess up but I will always try.
What do you need to tell yourself you can do? Where do you need some encouragement today?
4 thoughts on “Can I Do That?

  1. I read it.

    I talk to myself to encourage myself. I see myself as a 3 year old & I love & encourage myself with words like:

    “I’ll help you.”

    I am very polite to the little boy.

    (I see myself as 2 persons; my big self & as a little boy. My duty is to help the little boy that didn’t get encouraged)

    The little boy talks back & says: “You’ll help me?”

    I answer: “Yes. I will help you.”

    —-

    Of course, when my son is near me & he has the right attitude then he energizes me.

    We get things done on those days that he visits.

    Everyone should have an assistant to get things done.

    Thank you for your article.

    If you ask: “Can I be a better parent?” Then it means that you are becoming a better parent. Yes, you are.

    You are becoming a great pastor, too.

    God bless you & those that surround you.

    Like

    • Daniel,
      Thank you very much for your kind and generous words. I appreciate it. I am glad that I am able to speak to you. I am glad that you are able to enjoy your son. Continue to do so. We never know how long we have with them. I am glad to hear you are getting things done on the days he visits. God Bless,

      Paul

      Like

    • Thank you Mary. I am glad I could encourage you with my words. That is why I do what I do. Don’t forget to subscribe to my monthly newsletter and get your free 5-day devotional. You’ll find it under the free devotional tab.
      God Bless,

      Paul

      Like

Leave a Reply

