Wasted Time!

fog-79456_640

Naps are wasted on the young. Like many other things. But one of the worst things is the waste of time. As I have gotten older I have come to realize time is a priceless commodity. It is the one thing you can use and never regain. You can spend money and make more of it. Not so with time once it is gone it’s gone.

There are a few young people that may be willing to hear what you have to tell them about life and actually listen to what you are saying. Those young people will far and in between and very wise beyond their years. Those are the young people you invest into. They are the ones you know are going to make it (hopefully).

I don’t say all of that to mean we shouldn’t invest in the hard headed kids, or the like. I believe if we are able to help mold the next generation to be wiser than ourselves we are making a wise investment. Otherwise, we are doing ourselves and them a disservice.

Dealing with My Boys
We can start with them young teaching them principles about time management, finances, and many other valuable life skills. I have been trying to teach my boys the importance of saving money. Its hard to do right now they are still rather young and impulsive. Heck, I still struggle with saving money.

Like any good Christian dad I’m trying to bring my boys up in the admonition of the Lord (Eph 6). It is not easy trying to teach my kids how to be good men. One thing I do know is it’s not a waste of time like watching TV, or playing video games (without the kids) can be. I want them to be better men than I am and that takes a lot of hard work and effort.

While they cannot understand why I push them now, they will one day. Like the day they get a job and their boss has them do something they really don’t want to do. Or when life lands a blow they weren’t expecting, like the loss of a loved one. I want them to know how to handle their emotions (I feel like I fail at this daily). I still keep trying though.

To some people it may seem like a waste of time to try and instill certain values and morals into my kids. I know better, it is not a nuisance or a waste of time, but it is an investment that will pay dividends in the long run.

Questioin: What is something you do that the world may consider a waste of time?

Leave a Reply

