What type of leadership do you appreciate ?

trekking-299000_640

It is official. I have started my first ever internship (but that is not what we are calling it). I got to lead a Bible study on 1 John. I will be leading this study in several different forms over the next couple of months. This is an exciting time for me. I have longed to lead in my home church for a while now. This is my chance to either make it or fall flat on my face.

I plan on doing somethings a little differently than they have been done in the past, with this group. We usually meet on Wednesday nights and just do the study, there has been very little of doing life with one another. I intend on keeping in touch with these men through multiple forms of contact.

This is what I mean by leading from the front lines. If I want these guys to have solid relationships with each other they need to see their leader (which is me, for a short while) stepping up and giving a damn about their lives outside of Wednesday nights. If you go back to ancient Israel to the shepherding which took place there the shepherd was in the front, leading his flock. HIs flock knew his voice and would respond.

There are many advantages to leading from the front, you can see what lies ahead. You can view the terrain and plan accordingly, you are proactive instead of reactive. This is the type of leadership I have always admired. I hope to set an example these men will be willing to follow.

I also know leading from the front means I am going to be the one who catches the flack when things go awry. Trust me during these 16 weeks something is bound to go awry, Lord willing it won’t but if it does I am preparing myself for it.

Don’t get me wrong I am not out to criticize my current leaders styles. They have developed what works for them and it is fine. I want to become more involved and invested, than I have been. In the end I think it will develop more respect for me (who wouldn’t want that). It will also strengthen bonds being made amongst Christian brothers.

Christ is the ultimate example of leading from the front.

He could have sent any number of angels or other agents to earth, but he knew none of them could pay the price which had to be paid. He came down out of heaven, from his place of authority and put on flesh in order to restore a right relationship between us and him. He said no greater love have a man than this that he would lay his life down for his friends.

That is a courageous act of leadership. To die for those you love. He died for us while we were separated from him by sin. There is no other person who would do that. My little act of keeping in touch will pale in comparison, it is the best I can offer right now.

Question: How can you step up and lead from the front?

Leave a Reply

